a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Old Family Tree

Mono Monday: Light

A while back I spotted an interesting looking footpath on one of my walks and decided to try exploring it once conditions dried out.  It starts off across a fairly muddy field which isn't terribly enticing, but once you get past that there are some quite interesting elements, including this mighty dead tree on the side of the hill, that the new lambs were gambolling around.  

I took a lot of shots, playing with a variety of exposures and perspectives, but of all the various treatments I like this minimalist silhouetted approach the best.  I was tempted to put up the completely flat 2D silhouette shot, but in the end I liked the small amounts of light that bring some element of three dimensions to Mum and her two babies.  In the more exposed shots the detail from the tree and the landscape over complicate the image and detract from the subject, or at least that's how I feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.