a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Beautiful plumage

Tiny Tuesday: Cock Pheasant

This nervous looking pheasant is not the smallest of birds, although it is quite smartly turned out in its multi coloured plumage.  Its also not the smartest of creatures, and not native to these shores, being bred for the rich man's sport (so it is probably wise to look nervous).  However, as others discovered the cloudy conditions today meant that it was cold and not terribly conducive to macro insect photography - and I thought I would spare you a flower ... there's some nice plumage detail if you want to look in large.

I did walk back out to where I saw a flock of redwings yesterday in the hope that I might be able to get a third blipsnap in a row with Incredibish, but they seemed to have moved on.  There was a little flock of linnets in the hedgerow and I was trying to get close enough to grab a shot of one of them when the local farmer came past in his tractor and that was the end of that :-)   

I did manage another shot of the buzzard sitting on a fence post, but it looks not that dissimilar from a previous shot of a buzzard on a fence post so I've gone for this pheasant - I hope you admire its pluck.

Finally, its worth remarking on two anniversaries.  

Today is Kidney Day 4 years on - so even though I can't currently give my sister Janet a big hug I am sending her this virtual one.

Today is also the first anniversary of my mention of covid - a year ago we were awaiting the Government's emergency plan.  At this stage it was all about washing ones hands .... no, really!  ;-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.