Wheelbarrowing

To Arley Hall early, and before anyone else, to renew our season tickets. They have proved tremendous value - three visits and they’ve paid for themselves.

It has been sunny all day, and as I walked up the pleached lime avenue which forms the entry point, the trees were casting strong shadows onto the brick walls. This chap seemed surprised to see me (I was a little early) and reversed back into the gate)..

It is such a strange time. On entering the courtyard, which is the starting point of any visit here, I was a little startled when two chaps (I think they were delivering) asked me to take their photograph. I obliged (see extra), but it did occur to me that I have virtually no interaction with people outside the virtual world, and may be in danger of losing the ability to do it.

I have checked my blip for this date last year. We went to a live music concert, the last one for us. I cannot see for the foreseeable future how we could do that again. The vaccination programme will give us much more confidence, but it does not eliminate risk, especially for those who have to shield because of clinical vulnerability. I suppose I am finding the list of things we cannot do a bit depressing.

St David’s Day today, and J’s welsh friend has been making leek soup. We had an “off the shelf” vegetable soup at lunchtime. Examination of the ingredient list revealed it contained 2.5% leek. Does that count as a token effort ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.