Waltersmuir

The Reservoirs of Lockdown project sputtered back into life today. Waltersmuir is a small reservoir in the hills above Dunblane. We had a failed attempt to reach it last autumn but were stymied by the pheasant chick rearing industry on the land. After 28 February it's permitted to walk through the shooting estate and if I'd had more energy I'd have gone yesterday. You can see how much they love the countryside in the extra.

Waltersmuir itself is fenced off but there was a bit of a path scrambling through the undergrowth. It was worth the walk to see the reservoir but it wasn't one of the top ten. The channel with the reservoir overflow tumbling into the burn was the most attractive bit. The straight line of the dam is at the top. Not a classic but a record for the project.

Thanks for all the sympathy for Sunday night's insomnia. I'm glad to say things were much improved last night. I feel a lot more energetic today which is just as well as I have some reading to do for later in the week. The weather's OK too so I'll be out for another walk later and/or time in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.