Wild Wednesday:"Now what should I do with this..?"

Blipper Daver64 kindly told me recently that there were some dippers nesting near the waterfall in Jesmond Dene, and as we wanted a walk this morning off we went. He was quite right of course, but they were tricky blighters to photograph as they kept whizzing off this way and that. What's more it was dull and overcast so I had to crank the ISO up to 1600 to get a reasonable shutter speed. Anyway eventually this fellow settled on a stone for long enough for me to grab a few shots: this one shows him carrying a little sliver of stone in his beak. I've no idea what he planned to do with it, and I don't think he did either as shortly afterwards he dropped it and flew away.

There were also a couple of grey wagtails flitting about - again, not easy to catch on camera but I quite like the shot in the extra where he seems to be "living life right on the edge" - of a weir.

On our way to the Dene we checked on the tawny owl - he was still there, snuggled safely in his tree.

I didn't have any really bright ideas for today's Widwed challenge so I'll tag this for Wild Wednesday instead. I've no idea what number we're up to now though. (PS: Many thanks to AngelsShare who has now given me the Wildwed tag number.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.