Wild Tawny Owl

My Dad told me yesterday that he'd heard from a friend that there's a tawny owl nesting in a tree near a local track. (For any interested local blippers, it's on the old "tram track" (Coxlodge Waggonway) between Benton Road and Coach Lane, on the south side near the Coach Lane end.)

So of course this morning I had to drop any other ideas of what to blip today and head off that way on my morning walk, along with my camera and long lens. The owl did seem rather sleepy but that's hardly surprising at 9am for a nocturnal creature - and as the extra shows its eyelids did droop after a while.

I was quite excited to be able to capture a shot of a wild owl here in the suburbs - a change from the tamed ones at the falconry. You may well see this one again on my blips. I'm just wondering if there's any chance I might be able to capture a shot of it in flight sometime - but I guess that's more likely to occur in the dark which could be tricky!

Please look large if you've time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.