Thursday's painting...

...I woke in the night at 2.30 am when Popeye got off my chest where he had been sleeping, and because I needed the bathroom I got up. Went back to bed, gave up at 3 am, and went to make a cuppa. Checked on Popeye who had made an igloo (as he does) at night if he has gone to sleep on the couch. But he was very still, cold, and I couldn't rouse him. The only bit of warmth was at his rear end. And I am thinking what is the last part of your body that still retains warmth...

So I got another blanket, turned the heating up a notch (the radiator is next to him), and sat besides him with my hand on his body to see if I could get him warm again. Over an hour later the heat was going up his body, back up to his head which was now warm. So, I put my blanket over him (it is very lightweight) and went for a quick shower. Then the bathroom door pushed open and Popeye is looking at me wondering why I have put his cat tray outside the bathroom door, and his eyes widen in horror with this water pouring all over me. So, I think all is well for today at least.

I had to wrap my finger in plastic before the shower as yesterday I had been cutting tomatoes for my lunch, and I had picked up a brand new sharp knife (my spare) without realising, and I sliced the fingerprint part of my first left finger almost off. Instantly I grabbed kitchen towel, pressed it back together (my first thought was how do I unlock my Android as that is the fingerprint recognition for it?!?). Quite a bit of blood. But mixed up with tomatoes. I didn't want to eat after that. And so I never ate yesterday. Instead I went out to my thatched swing, it was a cold cloudy day, but I wanted cold fresh air. And I promptly fell asleep! I woke up to a cold cup of tea in my hand, which was tilting the tea out to the ground, and within a metre of me was Mrs Blackbird on a branch staring me in the face. I have no idea what she was thinking, but her eyes were not regarding me as an enemy, almost like looking at me with concern. So, I sat still, and Mrs Blackbird watched me. Then I got up, and she flew away.

So, this morning I didn't feel too good, I am assuming it was because I didn't eat yesterday. I don't normally eat in the early hours, but I went and cooked a couple of eggs. And Popeye came back to bed with me and we got another couple of hours of sleep in. 

The ravens are on my cherry trees again. They are making a heck of a racket. All the different pairs, and flocks of birds are visiting. I don't normally have my cochlear speech processor in this early, but I put it on because of Popeye. They have just flown off. And a pair of Magpies have taken their place, and one of the Magpies is making a racket, I can see his beak going, and his aggressive body language in the direction the ravens have flown (which looked like back to the ancient woods).

My painting was done while I was sitting with Popeye earlier. My injured finger kept getting in the way, because I was trying to wedge the iPad, and one hand on Popeye, and using my fingers on the other hand to paint with (I can't hold a digital pen well with my arthritis, so fingers are easy to use to do a digital painting).

I was looking at some photos again, and the last time I saw and held my English grandchildren was on Crosby beach where the hundred statues are, one sunset. But my fingers were a bit clumsy painting this, and kept slipping. I was doing the statue in a puddle of water, as many, of them are. And my finger slipped and it began to look a little like the Casper David Friedrich painting with the man in a frock coat on a rocky outcrop ...

I gave up, so here it is. 

Time for a cuppa and a meditation...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.