kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

Sunshine !

Meet "Sunshine" and her canine co-driver Bear, who just happened to pull into the Manastash Ridge view point for a canine rest stop.

Sunshine hails from Virginia, and told me she is a company driver, and has been trucking since 2003, with her "co-driver."

I think she may have been a bit wary of me at first - WHO is this crazy redhead guy with a huge camera mounted on a tripod, and WHY is he setting up in front of my truck? When I told her I used to be a driver from way back when... and the pictures would be FREE - she and her co-driver were more than happy to pose for a few shots.

I told her that back in the seventies, I had a rig with a 290 Cummins, and a ten speed Road Ranger. She kind of laughed and told me - "I've got a 750 horsepower Caterpillar under my hood." I was kinda sorry I said anything - gulp.

Pictures done, email addresses exchanged, Sunshine gave me a couple of complimentary toots on the air horn as she pulled out of the rest stop, on her way to Kent, Washington for a Monday morning delivery. That, and the sound of that CAT were "music" to my ears, and hopefully a visual treat for her when she sees her pictures. A delightful encounter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.