Another day...

...another doctor...another parking lot....

They say that keeping a journal record of these unusual times will be an invaluable  record for historians. this encourages me to carry on even though my record is pretty boring. This morning it was Spike's turn to be led off to see the vet while I waited in the parking lot. Steve is an old school friend of Dana's and we have been going to see him since we moved to Santa Rosa. the Covid protocols mean that his diagnosis and treatment is delivered by phone as I wait in the car. Some problem with the interface between the bluetooth in my car and my phone means that the ring is silenced on my phone but doesn't ring in my car either....frustration, and a wait ensued before communication was finally established. I would have gone home and called from there but they still had Spike inside.

Steve has  been dealing with Spike's ear infection since we got him and I was pleased to hear that he 'saw Spike's eardrum for the first time since I have been treating him.'. Pseudomonas infections are apparently notoriously hard to treat.

I was quite happy that Jim volunteered to take John to Healdsburg for his Covid shot, but it turns out that John  made an appointment for a second opinion with the foot surgeon who took care of me for tomorrow afternoon, so looks like another parking lot adventure. for me. and   Highway 101 adventures for John. Doctor C lives less than a mile from us but his office, alas,  is on the other side of town, halfway to Healdsburg.  Fortunately our dear Kathy, who will no doubt be doing much of John's physical therapy, lives close enough to Dr C's office that she is willing to meet me there and walk around the parking lot with me.

John drove me to that office all the way from Berkeley, but that was back in the days when patients could bring someone with them inside the therapeutic precincts....and, more importantly, when we could have lunch at Willi's Wine Bar on the way home.

Willi's  burned down in 2017, moved to a new space and reopened 18 months later. Now two years after that it has been closed again due to Covid restrictions. Whenever I wish we could go out to dinner, it is Willi's that I wish for....

I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed. The current situation calls for wine. I would rather someone brought it to our table, chatted with us about its provenance and kept our glasses filled, but for now, we'll have to make do with a bottle from our copious supply of economy cheap wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.