Flower Friday. : : Chamomile

In our garden this beautiful little ground cover is a true harbinger of spring. The fact that it is carpeting an area once burned and blackened by fire is very heartening....Other heartening things are happening today too...

Today was a real red letter day for John and therefore for me. This morning he got his first Covid vaccination and is scheduled for the second on 26 March. There are lots of supply problems in the county but Sutter Health has not dealt with it well at all. We haven't heard anything from them since John's appointment was abruptly canceled via a robo call other than another robo call saying he was on a 'waiting list'. Blessings for Jim who managed to find another appointment for him. It appears that most of us old fogeys are dependent on our children to navigate successfully through the technicalities required to make vaccination appointments for us....

This afternoon  I took John to my old foot surgeon for a second opinion.It was a total role reversal as John drove me all the way up here from Berkeley for both of my foot surgeries. Sadly, I couldn't go inside and found myself waiting in the fourth  parking lot of the week but it was well worth it because this time the advice was that he must stay off his foot for eight more days and then he can begin putting weight on it. This makes so much more sense than the ten weeks in a heavy walking boot he couldn't walk in  which is what he was told on Tuesday. We weren't seeking  a second opinion just  to hear what we wanted to hear, but in fact that is exactly what happened.  Life is looking much brighter for both of us now. 

The forearm crutches and knee scooter ordered from Amazon in a panic may have to be returned....the question is moot for now since they haven't been delivered yet....

Spike is scared of the crutches and stays far away from them. He has a talent for getting underfoot...not a desirable place for him to be for someone who can only use one foot to begin with. With no crutches and his Kong in my hand Spike pivoted suddenly this morning and ran right into my knee with his hard little head. For a few moments there I  leaned on the fence wondering if I would be joining John on crutches! Fortunately I was able to walk back up the driveway under my own steam....Two of us on crutches doesn't bear thinkng about....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.