Silly Me

I have a new quilt project pending and decided that my stash needed rebuilding. I had been putting off going to the quilt store because the one I like best is in Cloverdale, a long drive, and the other closer ones don't inspire me. I took a look online and found quite a supply of Kaffe Fassett designs which have always been my favorites. They seem to work better with slightly non-traditional quilts. 

I got a little carried away...this batch arrived yesterday, and I think another one is still coming. And of course, I'm sure I will still be going to the quilt store for something. Still, it's good to have a project to keep me out of trouble....

A column by David Brooks is worth thinking about today. For the first time in a long time, the American people have come together in agreement on one cause. The people of Ukraine have taught us about the meaning and value of courage in their defense of their young democracy. Ukrainians' courage is inspiring the world.

"The events in Ukraine have been a moral atrocity and a political tragedy, but for people around the world, a cultural revelation. It's not that people around the world believe new things, but many of us have been reminded what we believe, and we believe it with more fervor, with more conviction...."

Over the past week, Volodomyr Zelensky has emerged a true leader, The Jewish comedian in a t-shirt who didn't flee, but when offered safe passage out of the country said, "I need ammunition, not a ride." His courage, and the courage of his people have broken through our cynicism regarding true patriotism, and restored our faith in our own democracy.

"Things will likely get even more brutal for the Ukrainians. But the moral flame they fueled this week may, in the end, still burn strong."


-Quotes from David Brooks, a columnist for the New York Times. March 5, 2022

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.