Picnic Du Jour

This wasn’t my intended picnic spot today!  But I discovered that my car was completely dead this afternoon. It wouldn’t even turn over. Thankfully I have an automatic battery charger so I got the battery going pretty quickly, but I decided the car needed a longer journey as the short ones aren’t doing my car any good and perhaps I need a new battery anyway. I go on call for work on Monday so I really need to make sure I can get to the airport at short notice if I need to!

So off I went to Maidenhead. I had some things I’ve been waiting to get to a friend so that worked out well. I quickly dropped them off and headed back home, stopping here on the way back. The timing was perfect. This is one of my favourite walks especially if there’s a good sunset. How convenient these old tyres are along the footpath in this field!  I’ve sat on them before but today I had a flask of tea and a piece of cake with me. I bet no one has ever had a picnic while sitting there before!  Afternoon tea with a show!  

In other news - another exciting day of cross country skiing from the World Championships in Obersdorf in Germany. Today’s race was the women’s 30km. Yesterday’s snow had stopped and the scenery was beautiful but the snow conditions were still tricky. The winner wasn’t unexpected but there was a huge battle for the silver and bronze. There was a big collision/fall 10 km from the finish involving three skiers but they all completed the race with two of them getting medals. Poor Frida Karlsson from Sweden - she got the bronze but was in so much pain from the fall that she was taken away in an ambulance and missed the podium ceremony. Thankfully it wasn’t a fracture. These skiers are TOUGH!
Highlights from the race in this short video.

One more day from the Championships tomorrow - the men’s 50km race.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.