If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Robin ( Erithacus rubecula )

I spend far too much time gazing out of the window at what the birds are up to in the garden.  As a result I often only take shots of birds.  Today out of the shots have chosen the Robin.

Birding has been part of me as long as I can remember.  I can remember a day when I was in the last class at infant school.   The teacher was telling the class how male Robins had the red breast and females where brown so that they weren't obvious when on the nest.   Well I wasn't having that as I knew she was wrong so the next day I took one of my bird books in to prove I was right.   I must have been a nightmare to teach and I don't suppose I have got any better.

For the record this week I saw two Robins together on the feeder without fighting so we probably have a pair, they are very territorial.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.