A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Maine State Flower

I wanted to participate in today’s Mono Monday but was perplexed by the flower challenge. Our lovely Peace Lily, Mary Lou, currently has several flowers but I’m saving her for an EB, plus today’s bright sunshine beckoned me outdoors • With fleece jacket zipped and boots on my feet I headed out the front door for inspiration • Spring perennials are weeks away due to the substantial snow cover on the ground (see yesterday’s blip); our winterberry bushes are picked clean; all holiday evergreen adornments were removed weeks ago; not even an artificial flower is within view (thank goodness, not a fan) • Scanning the trees for birds I stopped to admire the towering pine tree in our neighbor’s yard full of pine cones. I know it’s a pine and not a fir because the cones hang down, not up. Pine cones are not actually flowers but they do contain seeds • Ironically the Maine State Flower is the White Pine Cone! Blip problem solved! • Thanks to Trisharooni for hosting :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.