Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2263. Nintendo Switch: Animal Crossing Edition

It’s now almost a year since I first collected my new Switch, just a few days before the first lockdown started.  This game has kept me going throughout the whole of lockdown and I’m still enjoying playing it.  I joined a couple of Facebook groups to get help finding certain things and joining in some activities on different islands...it’s been fun and I will continue playing at home.  Once we start to move out of lockdown I am sure that I will play it a lot less.....

This is my third Switch, my first one was donated to my youngest when I bought my second one (which was a newer model) and my new one was donated to my youngest step daughter after she lost her husband and when she was staying with us as it gave her a much needed distraction at the time.  So I bought this one when the new Animal Crossing game was released.  Nintendo are also talking about a new model being released some time in the first half of this year which I may consider buying (but keeping my special edition one) as it has been such a valuable tool for keeping me occupied and there are so many games to choose from.

Saw my youngest today and he was in fine form, lockdown has been very hard for him and for all people, particularly the young, who live alone perhaps only going outside to go to work or exercise but zero social life.  He had a nice experience at work last week though, a lady who he always chats to whilst dealing with customers at work, popped a card into his hand to say thank you for being so friendly and helpful at work.  She enclosed a £10 note and told him to get himself a nice takeaway coffee!  He initially felt a little embarrassed about this as he just does his job and thinks nothing of it, but I reassured him that it was kind gesture from someone who appreciated a happy smiling face whilst interacting with him.

Just listening to the First Minister’s announcement about a slight relaxation of the lockdown rules enabling us to meet up with two households outside and perhaps in a garden which is most welcome.  It is a small change but a significant one.  The infection rate in the area where I live is 2.5% per 100,000.  This is so much lower than just after Christmas and I hope it lasts.  She started her speech today with a damning statement about the recent  scenes in the centre of Glasgow after Rangers were named as league winners.  What happened was a national disgrace and I hope that the actions of these few (1000+) does not impact the move out of lockdown for the rest of us.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.