Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Chirpy, chirpy, cheep, cheep!

This lovely little chap was hiding in a pile of odds and ends in a charity shop last year, remember charity shops? He didn't have a clockwork key, but when I mentioned it to the lady behind the counter, she remembered seeing one in the backshop so went to look and lo and behold, it fitted. Now he can spin round in circles in a quite manic fashion, just like the one my grandmother had when I was a little girl. He seemed like an old friend when I brought him home. He's dates from the 1920s and is quite gorgeous, his coat is made of plush mohair and he's made by a German company called Schuco. I just love him and was so pleased to find him. He is one of very, many things in my house which I don't need - but how could I resist him?
Today I woke with a headache which has persisted all day. I did go out for a walk at one point to see if that would help, but it didn't really so I just got on with things.
I read a draft Cursillo policy on safe guarding in the Church of England and completed the first of the CofE online training courses, I'm pleased to say I passed with 100% so that was a relief. I'll need that if I help to lead any courses South of the border.
We have the girls staying over again tomorrow which is nice, so we got organised for that. I'm going for the best grandma award again and having fish fingers, beans and chips for tea. Not just any fish fingers though, M&S special jumbo ones. We're having a raspberry fruit jelly and icecream for pudding, so that should seal the award!
Tuesday today so bridge. In spite of my headache I was pleased to have a positive score at half time when I handed over to Colin.
Things are starting to ease here at last and I'm very glad they are doing so slowly. Churches opening on Palm Sunday is particularly welcome although we won't be able to be there as C is isolating by then ready for his next, and hopefully last, hospital visit. His mum got word today of her 2nd Covid vaccine in a couple of weeks time so that's good too, she's 98 so we'll be very happy when she's had it.
Keep safe and well everyone, hopefully we're moving forwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.