Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Life in the fast lane!

That's a bit like what today felt like!
I started with our midweek morning service as it's Wednesday. From there I went to the post office to send a parcel for Ali. The price quoted - £21 seemed much higher than I remembered her quoting so I took the parcel home again to check. It turns out that if you get a quote, pay and print off a postage label at home and then take it to the post office or other dispatch point, it costs much less, in this case £11 - a £10 saving. I'll remember that in future. So I did all of the above and took the parcel back to the PO.
I had to be at Ali's by 1.45 to take Josie for a walk while they had an online meeting but decided to grab some lunch on the way.
Josie and I had a lovely walk through the streets of Corstorphine for an hour, or at least I did, Josie slept the entire time. We were almost back home when I spotted a thrush on the grass, which I was pleased about as I don't see them very often, then I realised there was another and in fact several more. It was at that point that I realised that they were in fact a flock of redwing so I was even more pleased. I juggled pram, handbag and baby (not literally) and managed to get my phone out to grab a picture before they flew off. Not an easy task so I was pleased I got any sort of picture at all.
I headed across to the Rose Garden cafe at Saughton next for a meeting, we were there till 5 when they very politely accepted our payment and closed the doors behind us.
Back, briefly to Ali's for a cup of tea and to return Josie's hat which I had in my handbag. I then went home for my own tea (poached eggs on toast if you are interested) before going back to church for our Lent group.....Which reminds me I saw a joke about a treasurer and his spreadsheets which had a punch line referring to him having time to focus on having an "Excel" Lent. Boom boom..... The group time was good and after a Bible study, we had some good discussion about faith and doubt. We had a good spread of age groups present from those in their 20's right through to those in their '80s.
I'm home now at 9.30 and almost ready for bed, it's been a busy day! Time for a mint tea and a relax I think.
Oh and I rewashed the sheets, one of which had become semi unpegged and dragged along the ground. That'll teach me not to bring them in at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.