Ingleman

By Ingleman

Collateral Damage

Today was a good day for me. Not so good for the pheasant. I had a really good walk around the village of Albrighton in Shropshire and saw a windmill I didn't know existed, an albino peacock, some hauntingly beautiful ruins. And a dead pheasant.
I was on my way back to the car when this unfortunate but fatally stupid bird flew up into the path of a car travelling a lot faster than the speed limit warning signs suggested was prudent. It was flapping around in the road and died. I waited for a gap in the traffic and then lifted it still warm and limp, placing it a safe distance away from the road. Sad to see such a beautiful bird deaded, but they don't seem to know the meaning of 'run away'.
Home to a lovely hot meal cooked by my lovely wife and a much needed relax in front of the telly. 3rd episode in the new series of Unforgotten. Unbearably tense, can't wait for next week! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.