monochrome

By monochrome

365 Blips!

Well, despite signing up well over two years ago, I've finally hit 365 blips! Part of me wishes that I'd kept blipping continuously since signing up (in which case I would have already hit the 500 mark - maybe even 700), however, if I'm honest, I think the break did me good.

Looking back on my blips prior to my "second wind" (about October-November-ish last year), there wasn't really much going on. I wasn't making any real effort to take photos that I thought were interesting, let alone anyone else. Blipping had become a chore, and, a lot of the time, I was posting photos just for the sake of it. Then, towards the end of last year, I got back into blipping in a big way. I think one of the things that got me back into it was the fact that StevieFish (who works in my office) signed up to blip, and - having been a photographer for ages - gave me a few pointers and hints (especially with the post processing).

I've not missed a blip this year, which is an achievement, considering that the most I had continuously blipped prior to October 2008 was about a month. I'm hoping to last the entire year, having been inspired by folk like wingpig and 42 (amongst others) who managed to blip every day whilst still ensuring their photos are fresh and interesting. I'm certainly not being big headed, but I think I have improved over the past 6 months or so, as I'm actually thinking about stuff like aperture, focus and composition, as opposed to just pointing and clicking like I used to. There's still a long way to go mind you, however I'm certainly enjoying taking photos a lot more than I used to.

Everyone says it, but I might as well repeat it - thanks to Joe and blipcentral for all the hard work that they've put into the site, and to all the blippers who have followed my journal, commented on my photos etc. One thing that is echoed quite a bit is that there really is a sense of community amongst the blippers, and I think that's something that I've felt more involved with over the past 6 months too. Acht, I'll stop now, before I gets all gushy and sentimental like.

Anywho, if I had to list ten favourite blips that I've taken, they'd be:

* Middle Meadow Walk
* Trip Through Your Wires
* Maintenance on Warriston's Close Steps
* Solitary Valentine's Wander
* Empire State Building
* The Brooklyn Brdige
* Lunch Breaks
* Golf Shop After Death, Judgement!
* Rooftops, chimneys and spires
* Looking south from North Bridge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.