Rainy Day Visit

I arrived at Arley early, saw my reflection in the car window, and snapped. A combination of a well wrapped-up me, the interior of the car, and trees behind. Oh, and wild weather,

I had two things to do. Collect J’s season ticket (I renewed them last week, but my card was the last one they had available until freshly printed ones arrived, which they now have). And chat to the nurseryman - the nursery is closed (garden centres can open, nurseries cannot under the current restrictions), and they are busy preparing. There are things we’ll need when they do open, He was really helpful, we can plan.

I had a walk around the garden in the rain, and really enjoyed it. No one else was there. The extra is a low level view along the furlong walk. I presume it is one furlong long. It’s a measurement I learnt about at school, but now only seems to be used by the horse racing industry. 660 feet, one eighth of a mile. and one side of an acre if the other side is a chain long, The hall is at the other end, and one of my favourite trees (an ancient turkey oak) is to the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.