Cake, coffee and Codeword

It’s been a blustery day with blasting showers. I’ve enjoyed reading my book, knitting #2 daughter’s coat and baking. This is a Delia Apple, Date and Walnut cake and though it never disappoints, today it turned out even nicer than usual.

Ella and Nathaniel both sent emails about school. Ella had been doing a game to help her with her times tables. She didn’t mention what her lunch choice was.

I had asked if they’d got wet walking home from school. Nathaniel, now 7, wrote “Only my hair is wet. I did Maths and English and I finished my Mother,s day card. I had a Chicken burger. it was delicious . I played army at lunchtime with Albie. Love you Granny. Love Nathaniel xxxxxxxx “

I did not comment on the playing army bit. Honestly, boys.

There’s been a lot on the radio about safety of women out alone - a young woman went missing last week walking home in London and a policeman has been arrested in connection. It’s shocking that all those years after ‘Reclaim the night’ women still need to walk in pairs or get taxis and text when they get home safely. And not drink or wear short skirts obviously because then it would be their fault.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.