Protection

While I prepared for the boys’ arrival Mr C got on with researching the planting of the recently purchased witchhazel and hellebore. He was not best pleased to find that deer like them both. As do rabbits. Ooops. So he has made a cage for this one though I notice hellebores are growing uneaten next door. As for the witch hazel - that’ll have to wait till he’d dug up roots of other stuff.

I had wanted to get out for a walk before heading to Whitley Bay but it ended up being only a quick 3 miles on the moor, as Val called with some limes to swap for some Blueberries. She got 16 limes for 47p in Morrisons. How can that be possible? I made a quick sorbet with 1 and an over-ripe pineapple with some basil and a bit of stem ginger. I think I’ll made some lime marmalade with the rest.

We called for a coffee with #2 daughter who showed me her plans for decorating her office - she’s going to be working from home in her new job. Her funky jungly wallpaper would suit my avocado bathroom suite perfectly. We collected the boys and watched James do his own lateral flow test. He lets his mum do the throat bit but likes to do his nose himself.

Thomas is now full of homemade fish cakes but James said they looked as disgusting as he imagined they’d be so could he have breakfast instead. I.e. my homemade muesli and yoghurt. They are very lively tonight. Their rumbustious play and noise is very energy-sapping for the over 75s!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.