Pakoras and tangy dipping sauce

I decided to have a day working on my cook book. Mr C is enjoying all the food I’m making so that I can photograph it for the book.

I made these pakoras on Sunday for the first time since the 70s when I got rid of my chip pan. I was a bit nervous deep-frying in a normal pan but they worked out well. I also tried to replicate a tangy sauce. When we lived in Hong Kong in the 60s our favourite restaurant served samosas with a tasty dipping sauce. On our last visit before we returned to UK I asked if I could have the recipe for the sauce. However their English and my Cantonese were not up to the task. One ingredient was “like cinches on a stick”. I’ve tried many times but nothing has been right.

I’ve written to my MP, the appalling Anne-Marie Trevelyn, yet again regarding our embarrassing response to the Ukraine refugee crisis. Now she’s a minister I get no reply to my emails.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.