The day to start is today

By Traci

It might look like I'm doing nothing ....

but at a cellular level I am very busy.

Quite worried about today. Lots going on and not the time to catch up on the normal weekly things like getting the girls sorted for school (well the ones that are still there) general house stuff (not that I am normally that worried about that) getting ready for school myself tomorrow! Homework of my own, youch. Just general getting ready for the coming week :( Where did last week go?

Today was our District Thinking Day service at St Gregories Church in Weare. Potentially a huge gathering but these days less of the girls come along as their 'schedules' over the weekends don't seem to want the disruption I suppose. The girls that came along enjoyed the afternoon celebration of friendship. My Rainbows (the bit I was worried about) were doing their little bit to start the celebration, and I was introducing and welcoming, ok until a few minutes before then felt utterly sick. That's why I don't do public speaking !!! It was all fine and my little stars twinkled - with no rehersal. Then I relaxed for the rest of the event which, along with a few hiccups went really well.

I am not a regular church goer but I do love the old architecture and history of the church buildings, cathedrals even the odd abbey. there is most definitely an atmosphere and calmness about the buildings.

The Church of St Gregory in Weare, Somerset, England dates from the 11th century, although most of the building is from the 15th.
The tower which I have been lucky enough to climb up, was built around 1407. In the churchyard is a 15th century cross, and a 19th century church room. The font is older than the building dating from about 1150, while the pulpit is Jacobean.

British Comedian Frankie Howerd is buried in the church grounds. He lived in the beautiful village of Cross which is about 2 miles away.

I have now got a little while to get going again before the batteries run out and it's time to retire for the evening. My niece and her friend are staying over and leaving at 5 tomorrow morning to go to Poland for a short visit. I don't have to get them up but I know I will be waking up anyway, so best get myself an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.