JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Field colour and geometry.

Still up late and lethargic but the sun was shining.  I went out to see what the pile of prunings I needed to put in my car was like. I expected very wet after last nights wind and rain but no. They were as dry as bones.  Shunted them into the car instantly then went to feed the birds.   Found Beaky outside the kitchen door ready to fly inside if I'd let him and felt I was off to a lucky start. 
After a very late breakfast I drilled drainage holes in my house number box.  A sack of pea gravel arrived and some wood preservative so the bit of fence I'd prepared got doused in the stuff.  The postie brought a renewal price for my car insurance which I opened reluctantly.  It always rises astronomically and I then have to search around.  Not this year.  No price rise and a promise next year will be the same.  Have they decided to keep old customers instead of always having low prices to attract new ones ?  Began to feel I needed to pinch myself to make sure I had wakened up.  Decided I would follow the instructions for activating my renewal of my computer security.   Something went wrong when I bought it and sorting it out has been a pain so I expected this to be a pain too.  But  it all went smoothly.  Made off to the recycling with my prunings, filled up with petrol and drove off to Loch Leven's Larder for weekend cake.
The weather was amazing. One moment the sky was blue. The next black cloud had descended with a ragged edge of rain showers falling through a strip of sunlight.  Then all was dark and misty and a minute later the rain and cloud had moved on and it was blue sky and sunshine again.  I was driving along a back road into the sun with shining puddles hiding pot holes of unknown depth. Stopping in field gates for photos. There was hail.  Sometimes I had to photograph from the car as rain was being blown onto my lens and I could hardly see what I was taking.  It was so magical I got carried away and pulled myself together just in time to buy cake and nibbles.
Drove home more sedately on the main road stopping for a few more shots.  I love the field colours.  Just as well for, when I looked at my haul flare was everywhere in spite of using a lens hood.  But it didn't matter.  Just being there and enjoying the show was enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.