Incoming tide.

A busy day and a good one. At last the stairs got hoovered and my little witch hazel sapling got planted.  This took time as I had to dig out roots of the previous incumbents.  Dug a large deep hole which I filled with fresh topsoil, compost and some Root Grow Mycorhizal fungi so if this plant doesn't flourish I'll want to know why.  Had lunch and went off to Rejects in Kirkcaldy to investigate curtains.  They started out years ago selling rejects and have kept the name although they don't sell rejects now as far as I know.  They have a fantastic furnishing fabric area and make curtains to order. Wandered round for ages with two cushion covers to help me get the right colour and got bogged down so asked for help.  The staff were wonderful.  With someone to discuss shades with I found a possible fabric and on paying a deposit was able to take the whole book of samples home to brood over.  They worked out exactly what the curtains would cost made up and then we had a long conversation about Greece where one of them was going on holiday with her Glasgow boyfriend. This led to accents. I'm from Glasgow but don't sound it, the result of going to a posh school. Makes people think my family were well off when really they were on the bread line. Then we went on to "Shut yer geggy," greetin, ginger, pieces, and pokey hats.  Eventually I had to go and went to Seafield to find a blip.  It's called Seafield because there used to be a coal mine of that name there  that went out for miles under the Forth.  Now it's full of "executive" houses with sea views and parking for the beach.  Walked along the tideline looking for sea glass and remains of rejects from the pottery that was there in the 1900's  They and the mine tipped their remains into the water and the traces remain.  Met a young woman arranging a collection of her finds on a rock.  She was on holiday and when I asked "Where from ?" she replied "Arizona."  Not who you usually bump into on a Kirkcaldy beach.  She'd come over to the UK for three months and was spending the time mostly on the coast visiting small towns.  A unique holiday. I was really impressed.  Came home to tea and toast. I made a casserole in the slow cooker this morning so I can now lie on the sofa doing nothing all evening and feeling smug.
Shut yer geggy - shut your mouth
greetin - crying
ginger - a fizzy drink
pieces - sandwiches
pokey hats - ice cream cones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.