Marionb

By Marionb

Empty Nest

We are in a bit of a mild spell these days and it feels as if spring is on its way. I decided to go back to the conservation area that had been too icy for me the last time I had visited it. Although there were sections of ice on the road and trails, for the most part it was safe. There is not much colour anywhere, so I was not expecting many great photo-ops, and I was right. Still, it was a great way to start my day, spending time alone in the woods, by the creek and the marshes. One thing I noticed though was that I did not see or hear a single bird....not one. Very strange. But I did see this nesting box, empty, waiting for a tenant.. and that caught my interest for my shot of the day. As it was early in the day, I was also treated to the long shadows of morning ( see extra) and I debated which photo would be more representative of my visit. With birds (and the lack thereof) on my mind, it really wasn't much of a contest! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.