Letting Go....

I have a house full of things I love.. books, china, quilts, fabric, yarn,  paper, painting and craft supplies, and memorabilia...and every now and then the light dawns.. I have too much stuff!  More stuff than I could ever use in a lifetime......I need to give some of it away...but I love it all!  How do I choose what has to go and what can stay? If I knew, I would not have so much stuff! 

But, I have to face up to it and try..I need to be ruthless and start weeding out... Today I made a start - a rather hesitant and shaky start...I chose two sets of dishes that I could live without...they have no sentimental meaning, they are not family heirlooms, they are not valuable antiques..they are just dishes...And would you believe I could hardly even part with THEM? 

I started off by boxing up the dinner plates, but chickened out by the time I got to the smaller salad plates ... I just couldn't let them go too..... so I kept them!  (surprising no-one, including myself !) They are now back on the shelf...and will look lovely paired with white dinner plates... of which I have several sets! 

So, once again, I failed Decluttering 101...well, I didn't really fail...I at least managed to pull off a 50%.. after all, half went to charity...it's a start...I will try to do better with the next set! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.