Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cloud reflections

I did not have a great night’s sleep – surprisingly my arm where I got the vaccine is more painful now than before. I kept waking up because every time I lay on that side my arm would get quite painful and cause me to wake up. In addition the wind blowing all night caused doors to slam. 
I did an online gym class this morning but I did not feel that great, still slightly queasy, surprising really as this is now 4 days since I had the vaccine. Maybe it is not related to that at all?

Last night we got a message on our neighbourhood security WhatsApp group that a house down the road from us had been burgled. The owners went out to pick up a take away at 7.27pm and the burglars broke in with a crowbar to the window as soon as they left, ignored the alarm going off and took just 7 minutes in the house to get what they wanted – designer handbags, belts, sunglasses etc – no electronic goods at all were taken despite iPads and laptops lying around. The police were there 6 minutes after the thieves left and had drones up with heat sensors to find them, but no luck. They also think the thieves hit their dog with the crowbar, but the dog is thankfully fine. They were seen on their security camera video casually strolling away with backpacks on their back with the stolen goods inside. Needless to say we are all rattled by this but we all have very good security, plus most of the houses (including us) here have signed up for a extra security through a private security company which patrols the area every night. Crime is not really a problem here but people are being careful, and the police are hot on the case so hopefully these thieves will get caught soon.

Gavin and I had a very blustery walk in the woods this morning with Xena - Tommy did not walk with us today as he has so much work before the end of term next week, although later Gavin and Tommy did go for an 8km run. I am always photographing Black Pond but I did think it looked lovely today with the sunshine on those reeds.

This afternoon I had a zoom talk through the RPS on the power of luminosity masks, which is something I am keen to learn about using. The speaker uses something called TK7 masks which one can buy as a plugin but I am not sure I will use it as it is rather complicated and needs online training to really know how to use it.

Gavin and I are got a lovely surprise to be invited to a weekend away in September at a golf estate in Scotland called Dumbarnie Links, but it clashes with other work commitments so we are not sure whether we can go. Gavin is very disappointed as apparently it is one of the best golf courses in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.