Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Spring blossoms

Friday the 13th! Not too many disasters today so far....

I went grocery shopping and spoke to the staff about the lack of toilet paper. Apparently there is no shortage of the product, the manufacturer can supply enough but as soon as it comes in the idiotic panic buyers clear the shelves of it. I suggested they limit customers to one pack per household but they won't introduce limits as no other supermarket is doing so. I heard on the radio about a woman who was seen shopping with four trolleys laden high with disposable nappies (she had family members to help push the trolleys. That is just selfish and inconsiderate. It is times like this that can bring out the worst in people. Living in a first world country I do wonder how we will cope without toilet paper - I know others do cope without it, but it is something we consider to be a necessity and we have never had to forgo it before. The mind boggles as to what we will do without it! Adam cannot find any in Cambridge and so has bought kitchen towel and has sawed it in half.... I suppose we make a plan.

The blossoms are already nearly over - the rain and wind has hurried up their display which is a pity. 

My back has been very painful all week. I am stretching twice a day and I think it is due to extremely tight glutes. I usually am lazy to stretch before and after running and I always have very tight glutes, but possibly the long period of inactivity on my flight back from South America made them flare up worse than normal, which is what has caused the bad lower back. How's that for a self diagnosis?! You won't catch me in a doctor's room while Coronavirus is about, so I have to make do.

Coronavirus is really causing such problems around the world. Financial markets have crashed worse than the financial crisis of 2008, many other industries have been affected especially the travel industry, panic buying has caused problems in sourcing basic household things, the uncertainly for those who are travelling is unsettling. And most importantly of all, people are sick and dying. At the moment the UK is not closing down schools although many schools and universities have decided to do so as their own independent decision. I think Boris has acted according to the scientific and medical advice he has been given and very few of us are experts to argue with that advice. Let's hope it is gone by the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.