Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

When one thing leads to another....

A few days ago I needed some sesame seeds for an Asian-style salad I was making.  I knew I had some, but when I looked at the packet they were well past their ‘best before’ date.  I tasted them and they still tasted fine, but a bit stale.  I decided to toast them to see if that improved the flavour, and it did; they were very tasty.

I used what I needed for the salad, but then I was left with almost a full packet of newly toasted sesame seeds and I couldn’t think when I would use them.  So then I thought ‘Sesame Brittle’; something I rather like.  I made the caramel and tipped in the sesame seeds but there weren’t enough, so I tipped in some salted peanuts too, and this is the result.

It may not look very neat but it actually tastes better than any ‘brittle’ that I have bought; the saltiness of the nuts against the sweet caramel is lovely.  And on a day when I am largely watching the rugby on TV, it has given me a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.