*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Soroptimism

Thank you for the comments, stars and hearts on my post yesterday.

The whole awful situation has left me feeling very raw. It's taken me right back to growing up in the shadow of the Yorkshire Ripper and then, closer to home, The Fox. I vividly remember the police out in force looking for him in the village where I grew up. My mum was also friends with Wendy Sewell, the woman who was murdered in Bakewell in the early 1970s. Sometimes it can seem like we haven't come very far in 40+ years.

But...

... when I was out walking today I came across this bench in the churchyard at Bingley All Saints. I've often wondered whether to join the Soroptimists. Maybe when the world goes back to some sort of normality I shall. This is their mission statement:

"Through international partnerships and a global network of members, Soroptimists inspire action and create opportunities to transform the lives of women and girls by: Advocating for equity and equality; Creating safe and healthy environments; Increasing access to education; Developing leadership and practical skills for a sustainable future."

What's not to love about all of that? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.