party for the anniversary of the coronavirus

I like that Sam decides every once in a while to return to the happy hour driveway. Today they were having a party to recognize the anniversary of the beginning of lockdown and to celebrate St Patty's day early. 

They also recognized they were the first house around to have flowers while the rest of us still had snow ;-)

They had bratwurst. A little boy kept trying to sneak Samuel cookies, which Samuel appreciated very much. Samuel got lots of pets from lots of children and I got to take pictures of people dressed silly. 

A year ago today one of the party attendees was at a conference. He wasn't sure that he should go, but he was a speaker. The first day was filled with people, the second day the pandemic was declared, 60% of the people left, lots of other speakers called their presentations in rather than doing them in person, and he made it a running theme during his presentation that either everyone else was wrong or those still there at the conference were. The conference was on risk management. 

I got up without my friendly woodpecker forcing me to. I think it is the female woodpecker who has been demanding I get up earlier than I want to. I had a deal with the male woodpecker, which I explained to him one morning - "hey, I'm giving you nuts right here so stop attacking my house" - but now she comes, wakes me up, and flies away, so she's never there for me to have a discussion with when I deliver the extortion payment. 

I wrote a letter while in bed. If the news comes Monday maybe I can send the letter soon but I think it, plus a determination to make it a good day, set the day off to a good start. 

We went to the C&O Canal/Great Falls Park knowing that there usually isn't a line to enter if you get there before 11 - but everyone else had the same idea so - DANCE PARTY!!  The extra is of Samuel very eager to get in. 

In the park I met a woman in a gorgeous coat of many colors (thinking of Dolly Parton) and some geometric shapes. The coat was her mother's. Her mother had lined it with a gorgeous blue. She added the buttons. When she wears it she is wrapping herself in her mother's love. If I'm going to be brave enough to ask people if I can take their picture I think my next step should be to think of and request tiny adjustments in their pose - in hindsight I would have loved if she'd slightly pulled back the side to expose that gorgeous blue lining. It would have added more movement/interest to the pose. 

While in the park I had a great phone conversation with my mother-in-law. 
I didn't understand before this morning how the America Rescue Bill was going to have such a huge effect on child poverty if it was a tax credit. Well, it isn't just a regular tax credit. Actual monthly cash payments of $300 per child will be sent to families, starting in July and going through the end of the year.  

We ended the conversation very grateful to Alvin, the beagle who appeared in now Georgia Senator Warnock's ads. It is rather funny. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/01/23/us/politics/raphael-warnock-puppy.html

----
Happy British Mother's Day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.