Life In Wales

By KarenC

Mother's Day

Lockdown 3 - Day 69

Happy Mother's Day to all the mums out there, and thoughts are with those whose mums are no longer with us.  I received a parcel in the post yesterday off Rachel and I opened it this morning, to find this beautiful card, and amazing chocolates!  We in turn had flowers delivered to both our mums and spoke to them this morning - next year, we'll be close enough to spend the day together (Covid permitting).

I met Alison for a walk along the undercliff at 9am, and before I went I prepared lamb shanks in the slow cooker.  We walked to Ovingdean and back and then get a hot chocolate from Molly's and sat on the beach in the sun, it was really lovely.  On my way back, the waves were crashing and there were plenty of kids having fun.

Despite it being Mother's Day, I've spent the afternoon in the kitchen where I finished off the roast dinner, and I also made a curried parsnip soup and a butternut squash lasagne, there's nothing quite like being organised for the week ahead :-)

Tonight's TV entertaining was the final of Dancing on Ice - both finalists were worthy of the winning, it's amazing how far they've come.  And now we're going to watch the new drama Grace, which is based in Brighton.

I had a bit of sad news today, Louise messaged me this afternoon to say that she'd spoken to the consultant and they don't think her mum's going to make it.  They said they'll give it another few days, but if her heart gives up they're not going to revive her.  They've said the family can visit if they want to - it's so very, very sad  and my heart goes out to Lou and her family

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.