PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Snowdrops

There were other, more interesting images in my collection today; but this one is the most relevant. Mainly because I've finally noticed that spring is here. The last 12 months have been the first I can remember where I only noticed the world change in its broadest brush strokes. 

Heck, the fact that I'm seeing the year's first flowering (northern hemisphere obv), just as it's dying off says it all really. I was born to be a hermit, but I wasn't born to be as disconnected from my surroundings as I have been. I reckon I'm not alone in that either.

On the plus side. We got through winter. If I wrap up warm enough I can sit outside in the garden and watch the birds. Lily's finally back at school ( 2 days this week) and for all the risks, now that I'm partially vaccinated, she's not as terrified as she was about all that. Which means she can enjoy being in the (distanced) company of her friends.

I really feel for her and her peers. They've missed out on so much, and now they have to just bite the bullet and get on with it even though they have no vaccine available to them yet. The one thing I'm glad about is that we have the technology to combat isolation at least a bit. 20 or more years ago. This would all have been a very different story. But Lily was in touch with her friends daily, they played together online and kept each other sane.

I'm grateful to them all.

It also meant I was up early myself today and got out with the cameras before I would usually have poured my first coffee.

I'll see if I can get into my studio this week. We are allowed to go in and use them even now, but I've played it safe since xmas. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.