"Birds in Mono"

The theme for MonoMonday, and thanks to Beckett for hosting this week! (Ducks are "aquatic birds"; I looked.) I took the liberty of brightening this up a bit, as the light wasn't very good this morning, although it was better than this dark and dreary afternoon, with the weather app saying to expect some snow. My sister-in-law is coming this afternoon & will spend the night with us before flying out tomorrow to see her family in South Carolina. I was already a little behind in commenting because I spent most of yesterday scanning old photos into the computer and then organizing them & emailing them to my 4th cousin, who lives in Florida. She put together a book on our family history about 12 or 15 years ago, and she's updating it. She was told by my uncle that I had lots of old photos so she'd contacted me to see if she could use some of them.  She promised me a copy of the new book, which would be fantastic. I knew this part of our family came from Scotland, but didn't have anything but a last name and no dates. She's traced our family back as far as my 9 time great-grandfather, Andrew Davidson Christie, born in 1620 in Montrose, Angus, Scotland. At some point he went to Bergen, Norway, and that portion of the family history I'm a little more familiar with. She also told me we're distantly related to the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg.....like a 4th cousin 4 times removed, which seems to me to be pretty negligible, but an interesting family fact none the less. Hope you all have a great start to the week! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.