Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Car Boot

My sister-in-law D & I did our first car boot sale of 2013 today. It was cold, foggy & not-as-good-as-we-hoped in terms of takings. BUT, we made enough to say "At least we have money we would otherwise never have had". The hot chocolate came in handy and so did the "chilled" butties! We used the spare carry-a-bags (homemade foot poofs) to keep our feets warm from the stone cold tramac.

Seeing that it was the first one this year, the car park used was only half full & the browsers just didn't seem to want to "buy" or even "barter". Sign of the times I guess. We will be going again next week, hoping word will get around & therefore more people.

Talking of people, I got told off by one of the Car Boot Marshalls for taking snap shots of some of the stalls. Apparently this is illegal at car boot sales. I didn't make a scene so deleted the shots as he was explaining himself. As I left I thought to myself "It is a public place, in a public car park so why not?", but then again it was an organised event. So what IS the law when taking photos at a car boot?

What really annoys me, especially in this day & age of the mobile phone, is that there is just no escaping from "picture taking", as the blip above suggests. So I wonder if the Marshall would've said the same thing to this family (?). If so, then their smiles would've been wiped off their faces and this blip would not exist.

Shot with my "people" lens (50mm at f5.6).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.