Bud thief

Mrs M drew my attention to a couple of pairs of bullfinches on a hawthorn bush outside the sitting room window this morning, but by the time I got my camera out only this one was left - a female, I presume. The little horror - you can see the hawthorn bud still in her beak! Lovely bird, tho' a male would have been better!

Not a bad day today - sunny, but with a bit of a breeze. Walking down town before lunch the harbour was relatively calm, tho' out on the open sea the many whitecaps showed that the wind was stronger out there.

This afternoon I went to the Glen Lonan tunnels to clear my single veggie bed, take down the bean poles - I won't be growing runner beans here this year - and barrow in some manure and topsoil. Now I have to decide what to grow here this year!

Spent a couple of hours this evening Zooming with the various members of the family down south - it's my brother's 50th wedding anniversary today - the Golden one! Anniversary, that is, not the brother! 

Quote of the Day:

Socrates - “By all means marry; if you get a good wife, you’ll be happy. If you get a bad one, you’ll become a philosopher.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.