The second half of life..

By twigs

Japanese anemone

Wozgonna get stuck into the garden this morning to kill time (and weeds!) before the big race this afternoon but a call about a camera club issue saw me heading off in a completely different direction.  It was productive, but not in the way I'd thought!  The garden will still be there tomorrow.  This anemone caught my eye though - several images layered together give it a nice, almost surreal look.  Struggled to decide whether I liked the b/w version or the colour version best.  I think the b/w.........what do you think?

Sooooo.........the race........

I, along with just about the whole of the rest of the country, settled down this afternoon to watch what turned into an epic yacht race.  It was neck and neck for much of the early stages with the Kiwi boys just managing to poke their heads out in front in the early stages.  The determination to lock out the Italians was clear and slowly but surely they pulled ahead to reach the finish line some 30-plus seconds ahead.  To quote Peter Lester, New Zealand sailor and broadcaster for many previous America's Cup campaigns, "So one more time, the Americas Cup remains New Zealand's Cup".  What a fabulous result.......such a spectacle to watch unlike any other form of yacht racing ever seen before.  

My new problem though is what on earth will I do now to fill my afternoons?  Ah yes......that's right.......the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.