A Day In The Life

By Irish59

March 17th

It’s a grand day, no matter the weather, no matter anything at all, because today is St. Patrick’s Day! • Today I will raise a glass to toast Patrick McSweeney, my maternal Grandfather, born in County Kerry in 1900. I’ve included the only photo I have of him as a boy taken in 1910 with his sister, Margaret, when they arrived together in NY to live with an Uncle in Massachusetts; the rest of the family stayed behind • Today I remember my only trip to Ireland in 1991, so long ago, but the sights and sounds are just as warm and vivid. Castles, and sheep, my first Guinness, the Cliffs of Mohr, a Shandy or two, and then there’s the traditional music. So much to love, the kind friendly faces, emerald green pastures, and rolling hills lined with stone walls. A beautiful place • Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you!

There are good ships
And there are wood ships
The ships that sail the sea
But the best ships
Are friendships
And may they always be
(author unknown)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.