65 Years

Today would have been my parent’s 65th wedding anniversary. Apparently 65 years is symbolised by blue sapphire.

These pictures are very precious to me! I shared another one from their very small wedding album a few years ago and wrote a bit more about their wedding here.

My parents were so young! Just 21 and 22. And I think my grandparents look so old in these pictures but they were actually probably younger than I am now.

My mother’s mother was a fairly tall woman and definitely taller than my grandfather. But then look at my dad’s mother and how tall she was in comparison! She was at least 6 foot tall, but was the shortest of all her sisters!

My parents were married just 26 years and my dad sadly passed away the day after their 26th wedding anniversary. He was just 48 and I was only 19. I wish I had had an adult relationship with him. My mother was just weeks away from turning 70 when she passed away 22 years later. I miss them a great deal but am blessed to have had such loving (if not perfect!) parents who were sacrificial and such a blessing to so many people. They did so much in their few years but are probably best known for working with drug addicts and starting Yeldall Manor.

In other news:
We had sunshine this afternoon and I actually got to sit in the garden with a cup of tea and a few chapters of my book. I’m hoping for more even warmer weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.