The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Knott fireworks

Looking up at the Knott as Gus and I were heading home from our morning walk, the contrails appeared to be bursting out of the top of the hill with smoky firework clouds. Wifie pointed out there is a hand in the sky, and yes, even I can see it.

I was marooned at home today. When we arrived back last night, I couldn't find the key to the Ford that we have borrowed from Eduardo. I was feeling thankful that we had thought to pick up the spare set when we were staying at his house over the weekend - until I tried them in the lock. They were the spare keys to his work car, had we given them more than half a glance, we might have noticed they were for a Nissan, not a Ford.

So I stayed and worked from home, and when I was on a call this afternoon the door bell rang. I couldn't answer it, but when I went down about half an hour later, there were the keys to the Ford hanging on the door handle. I still don't know who found them and worked out they were ours. I must have dropped them after we switched the cars round in the lane just before we set off for Yorkshire on Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.