A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

A Northern Medley

My half day at the Office flew by (joy!) & before I knew it I had began my journey to Leeds, in the beautiful county of Yorkshire, for Jenny's sister's fiance's eagerly anticipated Stag Do (I won't be trying to explain that tomorrow night!).

From Haywards Heath to Kings Cross, via St. Pancreas & finally arriving in Leeds, I made it by tea time. With family living in Leeds, I was lucky enough to have a fantastic excuse to go up a day early for the Stag Do, & spend the evening with Ian, who'd kindly also offered to pick me up from Leeds Station, put me up for the night & drop me at the hotel tomorrow morning - what a good egg (& would you have it, he actually resembles an egg too, hehe)!

Ian & I swung by his Mum Marlene's for a welcome cuppa, before which we sped off to picturesque town of Wetherby for some proper Northern fish & chips at the great Wetherby Whaler (we just don't have these sort of restuarants down South, nor may I say the quality of F & C!). We had a de-lish meal & a great catch up & I think I may have stuffed slightly too much - may have been the tea, bread & butter, mushy peas, scraps or sticky toffee pudding & custard for dessert that did it, although I can't be sure which!?

Following that we popped into see Ian's sister Janine's family before making our way to the Bingley Arms in Bardsey for a final evening hurrah. Recognised to be the oldest pub in Britain by the Guinness Book of Records, dating back to 905AD, it seemed a fitting place to celebrate an enjoyeable night. After tasting a couple of local ales & watching Leeds Rhinos beat St Helens, we were definitely ready for home time.

Tomorrow, it all kicks off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.