Grammy

By Grammy

Beauty Amongst Thorns

We awoke to another bright sunny day. Hubby volunteered at the parish grounds’ clean up with other parishioners, including my son-in-law and two of the grands. Those old knees gave him a fit though. My shoulder hasn’t responded well to the new meds so I didn’t help although I usually do. My sister gave me this flowering quince years ago. I planted it outside the bedroom window to brighten up those last days of winter. It is really just starting to bloom but look at all those buds. I avoided the thorns at all costs while getting the blip; they are awfully sharp. I noticed it has scale; hubby got out the sprayer and checked all the shrubs. I finally made the St. Pat’s ham and cabbage dinner, did a bit more housecleaning and laundry and coordinated our schedule through the end of April. My sister and I will spring clean our Mother’s home next week. I’ll spend time at my youngest daughter’s before, after and during her 31 March surgery hospitalization. She could use some prayers as this procedure could go either way, easy or not so good. We’ll celebrate Easter with her family although she will be unable to eat solid food yet. After that, I will go a couple miles to my oldest daughter’s and spend a few days with the kids/pets so she and her husband can go on a mini anniversary vacation. Then, if my youngest is recovering well enough, hubby and I will make another trip to the farm with my sister. Living so close to my family makes it easy to pitch in when there is a need. When life throws you thorns, hunt for roses (or quince). Thanks for the visits, sweet comments and stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.