Delicious

I recently had an old friend .....one of very long-standing, not age..... that delicious means great in any context.

Well today was delicious in several contexts. Firstly I finally got around to making a cheesecake with various ingredients that were nearing their 'Best By' dates. Had started on Friday evening trying to make a base with biscuits but not having my preferred McVitie's Digestives which are generally not available in Germany although oddly Aldi's once a year "Taste of British Isles" offers for southern Germany did have them..

Anyway got it done and it was simply a dream. I made it up as I went along but was delighted by smooth, moist, not too sweet and not too sour taste but above all none of that "sticky in the mouth, teeth & throat" feeling I often get with cheesecake. I posted a video on Twitter and got several people asking for the recipe so tried my best to recreate it & show at least for the time being my attempt as an extra photo. Please check with your doctor or chemist about possible side effects, I take no responsibility for anything.

Then in the evening took off to Ottobeuren for a walk with Luna and did the Bannwald route above the town and Basilica. Lovely, very cool, Pooh Sticks but quiet walk with nobody about. I have avoided it for possibly a year, one of the last times was in March 2020 when I went to light a candle for a friend who had died.

So after the walk went into the Basilica but was stopped by a "security" greeting committee. The evening communion service was about to start and entry only with pre-booked reservations due to the Corona restrictions. The dear lady apologised 20x and begged me to please come back soon, rattling off the few times when the services were held.

Posted loads of videos on Twitter & a summary on Facebook. Felt really buoyed up by evening and forgot to eat ...until midnight when I BBQ'd a steak outdoors at -4° C washed down by a big glass of wine. Good to end the day on a positive note for a change. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.