Back down to earth

Not a bad day, weather-wise, tho'  I couldn't be bothered to go for a walk and Mrs M went out on her own. I opted for an afternoon with my plants,  potting on, top-dressing and generally fiddling about, restacking all the spare pots and trays under the house and tidying up the deck. While I was in the middle of all the mess Susie came out and perched on the seat in the sun for a while. 
 
While down at the garage with various bits and pieces for recycling I met some neighbours walking by and wasted twenty minutes chatting. Or should I say listening, as they felt very strongly that all the rules and advice about COVID were wrong and simply a means by the government of controlling the people. 
 
I've put on an extra of four pots of one of my favourite ferns - I was giving them a top-dressing of fresh compost. They are Dryopteris sieboldii, from China, Japan and Taiwan, and not too easy to grow. I grew them at Arduaine for many years, but although quite hardy they really seem to need a warmer summer than we get up here, being very slow growing and sometimes not putting out new fronds until the summer. Rather handsome though, so maybe this year I’ll try to find a good spot for them
.
Quote of the Day:
 
Sir Walter Scott – “Cats are a mysterious kind of folk.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.