If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Honey Bee ( Apis mellifera )

Another lovely spring day.   It has started me wondering if we are likely to get the glorious sunny 6 weeks we had at the start of lockdown one.   Somehow I doubt it.

The weather lured us into the garden to start tackling some jobs in the garden.  We tend to leave the debris of leaves and dead stems until the weather improves as they provide good over wintering sites for many little creatures.

Obviously the camera was never far away and equally obviously our eyes frequently strayed to the new plants.  Honey Bees were finding the new Hellebore very attractive.   So I took a shot as the first for submission to the "Get Cumbria Buzzing" records.  I liked the fact the pollen basket on the legs is showing full of light coloured pollen.  I don't know what Hellebore are like as a nectar source but they certainly seem to provide plenty of pollen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.