Beinghere

By Beinghere

Palm tree

One of my new palm trees. The other is slightly smaller. Several gardens in the village have beautiful tall palm trees, so I’m giving it a try. Fingers crossed.

This has been a day of anger and disgust at some fellow humans.
It has become obvious that it will be necessary to stay home at weekends in order to avoid the hordes of tourists who descend on this area. We tried walking in several different places but hundreds of cars and holiday makers were there first. When I got out of my car and spoke to one family who told me they were staying in a holiday home in Elie, they said they owned the home so they could come to it when they wanted and no one could stop them. I pointed out that they had brought their germs to an area with a low incidence of Covid, but they just laughed.
Elie is a small town with almost 70% of homes being second homes, and apparently they are almost all full.
This is a small are of Scotland made up of a few small towns/villages that are picturesque and quiet, and popular with tourists. And that’s fine, but not in the middle of a pandemic when we’ve been told to stay at home.
Oh dear, rant over for another day.
I spoke to Police Scotland who are “already aware of the situation and looking into possible actions”.
I’m not an angry person but when people’s health and their lives are being put at risk by other people’s selfishness I do get riled. Maybe it’s the nurse in me.
I wonder how much flights to Mars are?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.