101

My Mum’s 101st birthday today, so I had to blip something relevant. I have cheated as I took this 18 months ago, not something I’ve done before, but 101 years deserves a blip. She is frailer now, but it’s an amazing age to have reached.

We rang and sang happy birthday. Birthday presents and cards have arrived. And hopefully a small cake will have been delivered.

Fortunately it seems that Dad is now using the stairlift. His initial reaction was that it was “a b••••y nuisance”. As he is now quite frail, and the stair banisters have had to be removed, the idea of him attempting the climb without support was worrying. When he switched off the power so neither of them could use it, I was more than a little alarmed, so we asked the carers to remove the chair key and leave in the “on” position.

I guess that obstinacy is partly why they have both got this far.

I’ve not seen my parents since last February (so missed her 100th as well). Hopefully I may be able to see them, masked and the rest, later in the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.