Surprise visitor

We’ve had a bit of a go at the garden this weekend - tidying, clearing out pots, and the first lawn cut of the year.

I was sweeping at the side of the house when I heard loud calling nearby, obviously a bird but nothing I’ve ever heard here before. I walked into the back garden, and 20m away on our neighbours bungalow roof a red legged partridge was calling loudly. It didn’t seem too bothered about me, continued calling and then strutted to the end and flew up to the next roof.

I was pretty astonished, this suburban estate is not partridge country. When I went into the front garden it was sitting on the roof of the next house down. So I got my camera, walked down the road and took a photo. As I didn’t have a big lens I’ve cropped and enlarged so it’s not great quality, but it’s a first and unlikely to be repeated, so it has to be my blip.

Earlier croaking overhead alerted me to a raven flying over. Only the second time I’ve seen one from the house.

At this time of narrowed perspectives and horizons, these little things take on much more importance and lift my mood. We got quite a thrill watching a blue tit couple exploring a nest box I put up a few weeks ago. We’ll see .......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.